Jack Cummings

Jack Cummings

Bekannt für: Production · Geburtstag: 1905-02-16 · Todtag: 1989-04-28 (84 Jahre alt) · Geschlecht: Männlich · Geburtsort: New Brunswick, Canada

41 Filme

Biographie

John Cummings (16. Februar 1905 – 28. April 1989) war ein US-amerikanischer Filmproduzent und Regisseur. Bekannt war er vor allem als führender Produzent bei MGM. Er war der zweite Ehemann von Betty Kern, der Tochter von Jerome Kern. Cummings verbrachte den größten Teil seiner Karriere bei seinem Onkel Louis B. Mayers Studio, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, wo er in den 1920er Jahren mit der Arbeit begann. Mayer begann seinen Neffen als Bürojunge und erwartete, dass er sich durch die Ränge hocharbeiten würde. Cummings wurde 1934 Personalproduzent bei MGM, wo er zwei Jahre lang in der B-Feature arbeitete. 1936 produzierte er das extravagante Cole Porter Musical Born to Dance, das seinen Ruf als angesehener Produzent begründete. Cummings blieb bei MGM, auch nachdem sein Onkel 1951 aus dem Studio entlassen wurde, und arbeitete mit Talenten wie den Marx Brothers, Red Skelton, Esther Williams und Fred Astaire zusammen und produzierte einige der bekanntesten Musicals der Ära, darunter 1953 Kiss Me Kate und Seven Brides for Seven Brothers 1954, für die er eine Oscar-Nominierung erhielt. Er verließ MGM, um ein unabhängiger Produzent zu werden, der mit Twentieth Century-Fox verbunden war und produzierte das 1959er Remake von The Blue Angel und die 1960er Filmversion des Abe Burrows-Cole Porter Broadway Musical Can-Can. 1964 kehrte er ein letztes Mal zu MGM zurück, um das Elvis Presley Musical Viva Las Vegas zu produzieren.

Persönliches Leben

== Leben ==Cummings wurde von seinen vier Töchtern Julie Cummings Siff, von Manhattan, Kathy Cummings St. Aubin, von Los Angeles, Linda Kern Cummings, von Danville, Ky., und Carla Luisa Cummings, von Los Angeles überlebt.

Filme und Serien

1976.

1 Film
Pipe Dreams

Pipe Dreams

1976
Pipe Dreams (Originaltitel: "Pipe Dreams") ist ein US-amerikanischer Film aus dem Jahr 1976 mit der Soulsängerin Gladys Knight in ihrem Schauspieldebüt als Frau, die versucht, die Liebe ihres Mannes, ...

1964.

1 Film
Tolle Nächte in Las Vegas

Tolle Nächte in Las Vegas

1964
Lucky Jackson kommt in der Stadt mit seinem Auto buchstäblich im Schlepptau bereit für den ersten Las Vegas Grand Prix - sobald er das Geld hat, um einen Motor zu kaufen. Er bekommt das Geld leicht ge...

1962.

1 Film
Dinosaurier bevorzugt

Dinosaurier bevorzugt

1962
Professor Bruce Patterson muss ständig gegen die Fortschritte seiner jungen Studentinnen kämpfen und ist mit Helen Bushmill verlobt. Während Helen in den Urlaub geht, beschließt Bruce, in ihrer Wohnun...

1961.

1 Film
Ein Stern im Westen

Ein Stern im Westen

1961
1911 verlässt eine Witwe mit zwei Kindern New York City für das Territorial Arizona und wird eine Ranch Hand und später wird sie zum Sheriff gewählt. Ein Spieler und ein Rancher werden Rivalen für ihr...

1959.

1 Film
Der blaue Engel

Der blaue Engel

1959
Das Remake von Josef von Sternbergs Klassiker aus dem Jahr 1930.

1957.

1 Film
Das kleine Teehaus

Das kleine Teehaus

1957
Ein Übersetzer stellt vor, dass das Leben in den USA von Besatzungstruppen genossen wird.

1955.

2 Filme
Unterbrochene Melodie

Unterbrochene Melodie

1955
Die interrupted Melody ist die inspirierende, gefilmte Biographie der weltberühmten australischen Sopranistin Marjorie Lawrence. Sie ist eine vorderste Wagnerin, die den vokalen und physischen Anforde...
Ein Mann liebt gefährlich

Ein Mann liebt gefährlich

1955
Viele Rivers to Cross sind als Outdoor Actioner verpackt und verkauft ebenso eine Komödie wie alles andere. Robert Taylor stars wie der Trapper Bushrod Gentry aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, der selbst von d...

1954.

2 Filme
Eine Braut für sieben Brüder

Eine Braut für sieben Brüder

4
1954
In 1850 Oregon, wenn ein Hinterwäldler bringt eine Frau nach Hause auf seine Farm, seine sechs Brüder entscheiden, dass sie heiraten wollen..
Damals in Paris

Damals in Paris

1954
Nach der Befreiung von Paris kehrte Charles in die Stadt zurück, um in Erinnerung zu rufen. Er arbeitete an "Stars and Stripes", als er Helen traf. Er blieb nach seiner Entlassung in Paris, um für ein...

1953.

3 Filme
Sombrero

Sombrero

1953
Mexikanische Liebesgeschichten folgen einem sterbenden Mann, einer Schwester eines Stierkämpfers und Liebhaber aus feuden Dörfern..
Küß mich, Kätchen!

Küß mich, Kätchen!

1953
Fred und Lilli sind ein geschiedenes Paar von Schauspielern, die von Cole Porter zusammengebracht werden, die eine musikalische Version von The Taming of the Shrew geschrieben hat. Natürlich scheint d...
Eine Chance für Suzy

Eine Chance für Suzy

1953
Wenn der temperamentvolle Star einer neuen Broadway-Musical-Revue in den Proben herauskommt, schlägt Regisseur und Choreograf Ted Sturgis vor, ein Unbekanntes für die Rolle zu gießen. Wenn es in den Z...

1951.

1 Film
Karneval in Texas

Karneval in Texas

1951
Ein texanisches Karnevalsschauspielerteam wird mit einem Rinderbaron und seiner Schwester verwechselt.

1950.

2 Filme
Drei kleine Worte

Drei kleine Worte

1950
Der Song-and-dance-Mann Bert Kalmar kann seine Bühnenkarriere nach einer Verletzung nicht länger fortsetzen, so dass er sein Geld als Lyrict verdienen muss. Pro Chance trifft er den Komponisten Harry ...
Einmal eine Dame sein

Einmal eine Dame sein

1950
Die Familie Robinson verbringt zwei Wochen Sommerurlaub in einem Resort in den Catskills. Ältere Tochter Patti heiratet mit ihrem Freund Valeria, für die Zuneigung von Demi Armendez, aber Patti ist im...

1949.

2 Filme
The Stratton Story

The Stratton Story

1949
Monty Stratton verlor ein Bein bei einem Jagdunfall und war entschlossen, das Spiel zu seinen eigenen Bedingungen zu verlassen.
Neptuns Tochter

Neptuns Tochter

1949
.. Scatterbrained Betty Barrett Fehler Masseur Jack Spratt für Jose O'Rourke, der Kapitän der südamerikanischen Polo-Team. Spratt geht mit der Scharade, aber die Situation wird komplizierter, wenn sie...

1947.

3 Filme
The Romance of Rosy Ridge

The Romance of Rosy Ridge

1947
Die Tochter eines Bauern aus Missouri wird von einem Veteranen des Bürgerkrieges umworben.
It Happened in Brooklyn

It Happened in Brooklyn

1947
Danny ist seit 4 Jahren in der Armee, doch alles, was er denkt, ist Brooklyn und wie groß es ist. Als er nach dem Krieg zurückkehrt, findet er bald, dass Brooklyn nicht so nett ist. Er ist in der Lage...
Mexikanische Nächte

Mexikanische Nächte

1947
Ein nicht-aquatischer Tempowechsel: Esther Williams verkleidet sich in Matador-Ausrüstung und füllt sich heimlich für ihren Zwillings-Matador-Bruder ein, nachdem er den Ring verlassen hat.

1944.

2 Filme
Badende Venus

Badende Venus

1944
Nach der Trennung mit ihrem Verlobten kehrt eine Turnlehrerin zur Arbeit an einem Frauen-College zurück, aber ein legales Schlupfloch erlaubt ihm, sich als eine ihrer Schüler einzuschreiben..
Broadway Rhythm

Broadway Rhythm

1944
Der Broadway-Produzent Johnny Demming interessiert sich nur für Big-Namen-Talent und Spieße, dass seine Schwester, Vater und andere kleine Talente in einer erfolgreichen Show verwendet werden könnten....

1943.

1 Film
Der Tolpatsch und die Schöne

Der Tolpatsch und die Schöne

1943
Constance Shaw, ein Broadway-Tanzstar, und Joseph Rivington Reynolds, ein begeisterter Fan von ihr, heiraten, nachdem sie mit ihrem Verlobten Schluss gemacht hat. Connie denkt, dass Joseph eine Goldmi...

1942.

1 Film
Schiff ahoi!

Schiff ahoi!

1942
Miss Winters ist Tänzerin beim Tommy Dorsey Orchestra und wird gebeten, heimlich eine Prototypen-Magnetmine nach Puerto Rico zu transportieren. Sie glaubt, dass sie für die US-Regierung arbeitet, sieh...

1940.

3 Filme
Two Girls on Broadway

Two Girls on Broadway

1940
Eddie Kerns verkauft sein Lied an einen Broadway-Produzenten und landet auch einen Job beim Tanzen im Musical. Er schickt nach seiner Tanzpartnerin-Verlobten Molly Mahoney, die ihre jüngere Schwester ...
Marx Brothers - Go West

Marx Brothers - Go West

1
1940
Die Panello-Brüder stehlen das ganze Geld von Quentin Quale am Bahnhof, als er nach Westen geht, um sein Vermögen zu finden. Sie fahren nach Westen, weil sie gehört haben, dass man das Gold vom Boden ...
Broadway Melodie 1940

Broadway Melodie 1940

1940
Johnny und King Shaw sind ein Tanzteam. Ein Produzent entdeckt, dass er einen neuen Partner hat, aber er weiß nicht, wer er ist.

1939.

1 Film
Die Liebe auf Hawaii

Die Liebe auf Hawaii

1939
Der Filmstar versucht, sich von seinen Fans fernzuhalten. George Smith wurde von Masons Fans für Mason verwechselt und in Masons Haus gebracht. Sie werden ihre Identität für ein paar Wochen ändern. Ge...

1938.

2 Filme
Yellow Jack

Yellow Jack

1938
Ein ziemlich genauer historischer Bericht über Walter Reed's Suche nach der Ursache von "Yellow Jack" oder Gelbfieber und diejenigen, die ihr Leben in der Verfolgung riskiert.
Listen, Darling

Listen, Darling

1938
Um zu verhindern, dass Pinkie verwitwet, kämpfen Mutter Dottie von der Heirat eines wohlhabenden älteren Mann, sie wissen, dass sie nicht liebt, Teenager Pinkie und ihre beste Freundin Buzz entführen ...

1937.

1 Film
Broadway Melodie 1938

Broadway Melodie 1938

1937
Steve Raleight will eine Show am Broadway produzieren. Er findet einen Unterstützer, Herman Whipple und eine führende Dame, Sally Lee. Aber Caroline Whipple zwingt Steve, einen bekannten Star zu benut...

1936.

1 Film
Zum Tanzen geboren

Zum Tanzen geboren

1936
Ted traf sich und verliebte sich in eine Broadway-Tänzerin, die sich für eine Show mit Lucy James ausprobierte. Lucy verliebte sich in Ted, nachdem er ihren Hund während einer PR-Kampagne gerettet hat...

1935.

1 Film
The Winning Ticket

The Winning Ticket

1935
Ein Friseur versucht, die gewinnende Lotterie-Ticket er vor seiner moralistischen Frau versteckt zu finden.

1934.

1 Film
Jail Birds of Paradise

Jail Birds of Paradise

1934
Während der Direktor weg ist, versucht seine Tochter, das Gefängnis in 'Paradies' zu verwandeln.

1933.

4 Filme
Beer and Pretzels

Beer and Pretzels

1933
Ted Healy und die 3 Stooges werden gefeuert und aus einem Theater vertrieben, weil Ted nervige Frauen ist, die dort arbeiten. Sie bekommen dann Jobs als Kellner in einem Nachtclub. Chaos folgt.
Hello Pop

Hello Pop

1933
Ein Bühnenregisseur versucht, eine musikalische/komödiantische Revue anzuziehen, muss sich aber mit temperamentvollen Musikern, einer ungeschickten Bühnencrew und seinen drei idiotischen Söhnen ausein...
Nertsery Rhymes

Nertsery Rhymes

1933
Drei Jungen spielen werden einige "Bett-Zeit Geschichten" von ihren Eltern erzählt.

1932.

1 Film

1930.

1 Film
Crazy House

Crazy House

1930
Benny Rubin takes a tour of the Lame Brain Sanitarium and meets some of its strange patients.
Letzte Aktualisierung: 
Erzeugnis
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Soziale Medien
Twitter
Pinterest
Herunterladen
iOS-Anwendung
Android-Anwendung

Jack Cummings

Jack Cummings

Known For: Production · Birthday: 1905-02-16 · Deathday: 1989-04-28 (84 years old) · Gender: Male · Place of Birth: New Brunswick, Canada

41 Movies

Biography

John Cummings (February 16, 1905 – April 28, 1989) was an American film producer and director. He was best known for being a leading producer at MGM. He was the second husband of Betty Kern, daughter of Jerome Kern.Cummings spent most of his career at his uncle Louis B. Mayer's studio, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, where he began work in the 1920s. Mayer started his nephew out as an office boy and expected him to work his way up through the ranks.Cummings became a staff producer at MGM in 1934, where he worked in the B-feature unit for two years. In 1936, he produced the extravagant Cole Porter musical Born to Dance, which established his reputation as a respected producer. Cummings remained at MGM even after his uncle was fired from the studio in 1951, working with talent such as the Marx Brothers, Red Skelton, Esther Williams, and Fred Astaire and producing some of the era's best-known musicals, including 1953's Kiss Me Kate and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers in 1954, for which he received an Academy Award nomination. He left MGM to become an independent producer affiliated with Twentieth Century-Fox and produced the 1959 remake of The Blue Angel and the 1960 movie version of the Abe Burrows-Cole Porter Broadway musical Can-Can. In 1964, he returned to MGM one last time to produce the Elvis Presley musical Viva Las Vegas. Other credits included Easy to Wed, It Happened in Brooklyn, Three Little Words, The Last Time I Saw Paris, Interrupted Melody, and The Teahouse of the August Moon.

Personal Life

Mr. Cummings was survived by his four daughters, Julie Cummings Siff, of Manhattan, Kathy Cummings St. Aubin, of Los Angeles, Linda Kern Cummings, of Danville, Ky., and Carla Luisa Cummings, of Los Angeles.

Movies & TV shows

1976.

1 Movie
Pipe Dreams

Pipe Dreams

1976
Gladys Knight made her acting debut in the 1976 film Pipe Dreams as a woman who tries to regain the love of her husband played by real-life spouse Barry Hankerson. In this drama, her husband has to ch...

1964.

1 Movie
Viva Las Vegas

Viva Las Vegas

1964
Once he has the money to buy an engine, Lucky Jackson arrives in town with his car ready for the first Las Vegas Grand Prix. When the pretty swimming pool manageress takes his mind off things, he misl...

1962.

1 Movie
Bachelor Flat

Bachelor Flat

1962
Professor Bruce Patterson is constantly having to fight off the advances of his young female students and is engaged to Helen Bushmill. While Helen goes on vacation, Bruce decides to stay at her apart...

1961.

1 Movie
The Second Time Around

The Second Time Around

1961
A widow with two children leaves New York City to become a ranch hand in Territorial Arizona and later is elected sheriff. A gambler and a rancher are competing for the same woman's affections.

1959.

1 Movie
The Blue Angel

The Blue Angel

1959
There is a remake of a 1930 classic.

1957.

1 Movie
The Teahouse of the August Moon

The Teahouse of the August Moon

1957
The U.S is introduced by a translator. Occupation forces enjoy local life.

1955.

2 Movies
Interrupted Melody

Interrupted Melody

1955
Marjorie Lawrence is the subject of a film called Interrupted Melody. She is equal to the vocal and physical demands of the composer. She is a beacon of triumph for anyone who fights back when tragedy...
Many Rivers to Cross

Many Rivers to Cross

1955
Many Rivers to Cross is a comedy as much as it is an outdoor actioner. Robert Taylor plays Bushrod Gentry, a trapper who is trapped into marriage by Mary Stuart Cherne. After escaping his wife's respo...

1954.

2 Movies
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

4
1954
In 1850 Oregon, when a backwoodsman brings a wife home to his farm, his six brothers decide that they want to get married as well.
The Last Time I Saw Paris

The Last Time I Saw Paris

1954
Charles returned to the city after Paris was liberated. He was working on a project when he met Helen. After his discharge, he would stay in Paris to work for a news organization. He tried to write a ...

1953.

3 Movies
Sombrero

Sombrero

1953
Mexican love stories include a dying man, a bullfighter's sister and lovers from feuding villages.
Kiss Me Kate

Kiss Me Kate

1953
Cole Porter has written a musical version of The Taming of the Shrew and has brought together two actors who are divorced. The couple act like the characters they play. A fight on the opening night th...
Give a Girl a Break

Give a Girl a Break

1953
When the star of a new Broadway musical walk out in rehearsals, Ted Sturgis suggests casting an unknown for the role. People show up when it is announced in the newspaper. The musical composer, Leo Be...

1951.

1 Movie
Texas Carnival

Texas Carnival

1951
A carnival showmen team is mistaken for a cattle baron and his sister.

1950.

2 Movies
Three Little Words

Three Little Words

1950
Kalmar has to earn his money as a lyricst because he can't continue his stage career after an injury. The first song by Harry Ruby is a hit. Kalmar and Jessie prevent Ruby from getting married to the ...
Two Weeks with Love

Two Weeks with Love

1950
The Robinson family are at a resort in upstate New York. The older daughter is at a disadvantage because her parents think she is too young for boys. With singing at an amateur show and dancing, her a...

1949.

2 Movies
The Stratton Story

The Stratton Story

1949
Monty was determined to leave the game on his own terms after losing a leg in a hunting accident.
Neptune's Daughter

Neptune's Daughter

1949
The captain of the South American polo team, Jose O'Rourke, was the victim of a mistaken identity. When they fall in love, the situation becomes more complicated. Eve fears Betty's heart will be broke...

1947.

3 Movies
The Romance of Rosy Ridge

The Romance of Rosy Ridge

1947
A Civil War veteran is courting a Missouri farmer's daughter.
It Happened in Brooklyn

It Happened in Brooklyn

1947
Danny has been in the army for 4 years, yet he only thinks about Brooklyn. Brooklyn is not so nice when he returns after the war. He was able to get a job as a singer in a music store because he was a...
Fiesta

Fiesta

1947
Esther Williams disguises herself in matador gear and secretly fills in for her twin matador brother after he abandons the ring.

1944.

2 Movies
Bathing Beauty

Bathing Beauty

1944
A legal loophole allows a gym teacher to enroll as a student at a women's college after he broke up with his fiancée.
Broadway Rhythm

Broadway Rhythm

1944
Johnny Demming is only interested in big-name talent and doesn't think small-time talent can be used in a successful show.

1943.

1 Movie
I Dood It

I Dood It

1943
A Broadway dance star and a fan of hers get married after she breaks up with her fiancée. Joseph works as a presser at a hotel and is thought to have a gold mine. Everyone learns what Joseph really is...

1942.

1 Movie
Ship Ahoy

Ship Ahoy

1942
Miss Winters is a dancer with the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra and is asked to transport a prototype magnetic mine to Puerto Rico. She doesn't understand why she would be involved in the US Government.

1940.

3 Movies
Two Girls on Broadway

Two Girls on Broadway

1940
Eddie Kerns sells his song to a Broadway producer and also lands a job dancing in the musical. He sent for his dance partner-fiancée who has a younger sister. Molly was given a job selling cigarettes ...
Go West

Go West

1
1940
S, Embezzler, shill, all around confidence man. The Panello brothers stole money from Quentin Quale at the train station as he headed west to find his fortune. They've heard that you can pick the gold...
Broadway Melody of 1940

Broadway Melody of 1940

1940
The dance team is called Johnny and King Shaw. A producer discovers that he has a new partner, but he doesn't know who he is.

1939.

1 Movie
Honolulu

Honolulu

1939
The movie star is trying to keep away from his fans. George Smith was brought to Mason's home because he was mistaken for Mason. For a few weeks, they will be changing their identities. George Smith i...

1938.

2 Movies
Yellow Jack

Yellow Jack

1938
The historical account of Walter Reed's search for the cause of Yellow Jack and those who risked their lives in the pursuit is fairly accurate.
Listen, Darling

Listen, Darling

1938
To stop Pinkie's widowed, struggling mother Dottie from marrying a well-off older man they know she doesn't love, teenager Pinkie and her best friend Buzz kidnap her in the family travel trailer to li...

1937.

1 Movie
Broadway Melody of 1938

Broadway Melody of 1938

1937
Steve Raleight would like to produce a show on Broadway. Sally Lee is a leading lady. Steve is forced to use a known star. Sally purchases a horse, she used to train it when her parents had a farm bef...

1936.

1 Movie
Born to Dance

Born to Dance

1936
Ted fell in love with a Broadway dancer who tried out for a show. Lucy fell in love with Ted after he saved her dog. Ted is ordered to meet Lucy for a date at a night club, who later sees their pictur...

1935.

1 Movie
The Winning Ticket

The Winning Ticket

1935
A barber is trying to find a winning lottery ticket.

1934.

1 Movie
Jail Birds of Paradise

Jail Birds of Paradise

1934
The daughter attempts to turn the prison into a paradise.

1933.

4 Movies
Beer and Pretzels

Beer and Pretzels

1933
Ted was kicked out of a theatre because he was annoying women. They get jobs at a nightclub. There is chaos.
Plane Nuts

Plane Nuts

1933
Ted Healy and His Stooges alternate mildly risque vaudeville routines with semi-elaborate Berkeleyesque musical numbers with beautiful chorines.
Hello Pop

Hello Pop

1933
A stage director is trying to put on a musical and comedy show but has to contend with a bunch of people.
Nertsery Rhymes

Nertsery Rhymes

1933
Some "bedtime stories" are told to three boys by their parents.

1932.

1 Movie
Swing High

Swing High

1932
The Flying Codonas, fourth generation of a family of trapeze artists, practice and perform amazing feats high in the air. Close-up and slow motion photography show how it's done.

1930.

1 Movie
Crazy House

Crazy House

1930
Benny Rubin takes a tour of the Lame Brain Sanitarium and meets some of its strange patients.
Last updated: 
Product
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
Twitter
Pinterest
Download
iOS Application
Android Application