Peter Benchley

Peter Benchley

Bekannt für: Writing · Geburtstag: 1940-05-08 · Todtag: 2006-02-11 (65 Jahre alt) · Geschlecht: Männlich · Geburtsort: New York City - New York - USA

11 Filme · 7 Serien

Biographie

Peter Bradford Benchley (8. Mai 1940 – 11. Februar 2006) war ein US-amerikanischer Autor, Drehbuchautor und Meeresaktivist.Er ist als Autor des Bestsellerromans Jaws bekannt und schrieb seine Filmadaption mit Carl Gottlieb zusammen.Mehrere seiner Werke wurden auch für Kino und Fernsehen adaptiert, darunter The Deep, The Island, Beast und White Shark.Später im Leben bedauerte Benchley das Schreiben einer solchen sensationellen Literatur über Haie, die er für übertriebene Angst und unnötige Klauen eines so wichtigen Raubtiers in Ozeanökosystemen empfand und zum Fürsprecher für den Meeresschutz wurde.

Frühes Leben

Benchley war der Sohn von Marjorie (geborene Bradford) und Schriftsteller Nathaniel Benchley und Enkel von Algonquin Round Table Gründer Robert Benchley. Sein jüngerer Bruder, Nat Benchley, ist ein Schriftsteller und Schauspieler. Peter Benchley war ein Alumnus der Allen-Stevenson School, Phillips Exeter Academy und Harvard University.Nach seinem Abschluss am College im Jahr 1961 reiste Benchley um die Welt für ein Jahr. Die Erfahrung wurde in seinem ersten Buch erzählt, eine Reise Memoir mit dem Titel Time and a Ticket, veröffentlicht von Houghton Mifflin in 1964. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Amerika, Benchley verbrachte sechs Monate Reserve Dienst im Marine Corps, und dann ein Reporter für die Washington Post. Während des Essens in einem Gasthaus in Nantucket, Benchley traf Winifred "Wendy" Wesson, die er ausging und heiratete dann im folgenden Jahr, 1964. Bis dann Benchley war in New York, arbeitete als TV-Redakteur für Newsweek. 1967 wurde er ein Sprachschreiber im Weißen Haus für Präsident Lyndon B. Johnson, und sah die Geburt seiner Tochter Tracy.Sobald Johnsons Amtszeit im Jahr 1969 endete, zogen die Benchleys aus Washington, und lebte in verschiedenen Häusern, darunter eine Insel vor Stonington, Connecticut, wo Sohn Clayton wurde 1969 geboren. Benchley wollte in der Nähe von New York sein, und die Familie schließlich ein Haus in Pennington, New Jersey im Jahr 1970. Da sein Haus keinen Platz für ein Büro hatte, mietete Benchley ein Zimmer über einer Ofenversorgungsfirma.

Filme und Serien

2003.

1 Serie
TV
I Love the '70s

I Love the '70s

2003
Die Serie basiert auf einer Show auf der British Broadcasting Corporation. Sie untersucht die Popkultur der 1970er Jahre und verwendet Aufnahmen aus der Zeit, zusammen mit "Where Are They Now?" Interv...

1999.

1 Serie
TV
Amazon

Amazon

1999
Amazon was a syndicated television show created by Peter Benchley. It was developed by Canadian production companies Alliance Atlantis Communications & WIC Entertainment and German company Beta Film G...

1998.

1 Serie
TV
Creature - Der Tod aus der Tiefe

Creature - Der Tod aus der Tiefe

6.8
1998
Wissenschaftler der Navy erschaffen in einem geheimen Labor auf der abgelegenen Insel Shark Tooth Island eine Kreuzung aus weißem Hai, Delphin und Mensch, intelligent, amphibisch und tödlich. Leider g...

1997.

1 Serie
TV
The View

The View

6
1997
Die spannendsten Ereignisse des Tages werden auf ABC Tages-Chat-Fest diskutiert. Heiße Themen in den Nachrichten, die besten Experten auf ihrem Gebiet, Promi-Interviews und allgemeine Unterhaltung sin...

1996.

2 Serien
TV
E! True Hollywood Story

E! True Hollywood Story

1996
Hollywood Prominente, Filme, TV-Shows und bekannte Persönlichkeiten sind die Themen einer dokumentarischen Serie über E! grüßende Re-Tellings von Hollywood-Geheimhaltungen, Show-Biz-Skandale, Prominen...
TV
Beast - Schrecken aus der Tiefe

Beast - Schrecken aus der Tiefe

1996
Das kleine Seehafendorf Graves Point beginnt mit mysteriösen Todesfällen und unerklärlichen Verschwinden. Wenn auf einem leeren Floß an der Küste eine große, seltsame Kralle entdeckt wird, identifizie...

1995.

2 Filme
The Beast - Unheimliche Tiefe

The Beast - Unheimliche Tiefe

1995
Die verschlafene Touristenstadt Hampton Bay wird von einem Tigerhai verwüstet, der von der Navy als Tötungsmaschine gezüchtet wurde.
The Making of Jaws

The Making of Jaws

1995
Es gibt eine Dokumentation über die Herstellung eines der größten Filme überhaupt gemacht.

1994.

1 Film
Mrs. Parker und ihr lasterhafter Kreis

Mrs. Parker und ihr lasterhafter Kreis

1994
Die Blütezeit des Algonquin Round Table, eine Gruppe von Freunden, deren Stacheln Witz, wie sie, wurde durch Alkohol und Flirten mit Verzweiflung angetrieben, ist, was sie erinnert.

1989.

1 Serie
TV
Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove

1989
Dolphin Cove is an American drama created by Peter Benchley, set in Queensland, Australia that aired on CBS in 1989 for eight episodes.

1987.

1 Film
Der weiße Hai IV - Die Abrechnung

Der weiße Hai IV - Die Abrechnung

5.34
1987
Ellen entschied sich, nach einem weiteren Haiangriff mit ihrer Familie in die Karibik zu ziehen. Der Hai ist hungrig.

1983.

1 Film
Der weiße Hai 3

Der weiße Hai 3

5.4
1983
Eine Gruppe von Meeresbiologen versuchen, einen jungen großen weißen Hai zu fangen, der Floridas Sea World Park betreten hat. Die Mutter des Hais ist ein Gast bei Sea World. Der Hai ist im Park.

1980.

1 Film
Freibeuter des Todes

Freibeuter des Todes

1980
Eine Bande von modernen Piraten unter der Leitung von David Warner Razziaboote von Menschen im Urlaub in der Karibik. Michael Caine ist ein Reporter, der dort mit seinem Sohn geht, um das Geheimnis de...

1978.

2 Filme
Der weiße Hai 2

Der weiße Hai 2

5.89
1978
Der Polizeichef soll die Bürger von Amity beschützen.
Hunters of the Reef

Hunters of the Reef

1978
A beautiful marine biologist. A deep-sea diver. Trapped while searching for treasure in shark-infested waters!

1977.

1 Film
Die Tiefe

Die Tiefe

1977
Ein Paar junger Urlauber sind in einen gefährlichen Konflikt mit Schatzjägern verwickelt, wenn sie einen Weg in ein tödliches Wrack entdecken.

1976.

1 Film
Die großen Houdinis

Die großen Houdinis

1976
Eine Biographie des berühmten Fluchtkünstlers Harry Houdini betrachtete seine Faszination für das Okkulte und sein Versprechen an seine Frau auf ihrem Sterbebett, dass er aus dem Jenseits sprechen wür...

1975.

1 Film
Der weiße Hai

Der weiße Hai

6.03
1975
Der Polizeichef, ein Ozeanograph und ein Grizzled Haie Jäger versuchen, einen großen weißen Hai zu zerstören, der die Stadt Amity Island dezimiert.
Letzte Aktualisierung: 
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Peter_Benchley", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
Erzeugnis
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Soziale Medien
Twitter
Pinterest
Herunterladen
iOS-Anwendung
Android-Anwendung

Peter Benchley

Peter Benchley

Known For: Writing · Birthday: 1940-05-08 · Deathday: 2006-02-11 (65 years old) · Gender: Male · Place of Birth: New York City - New York - USA

12 Movies · 7 TV shows

Biography

Peter Bradford Benchley (May 8, 1940 – February 11, 2006) was an American author, screenwriter, and ocean activist. He is known as the author of the bestselling novel Jaws and co-wrote its film adaptation with Carl Gottlieb. Several more of his works were also adapted for both cinema and television, including The Deep, The Island, Beast, and White Shark.Later in life, Benchley came to regret writing such sensationalist literature about sharks, which he felt encouraged excessive fear and unnecessary culls of such an important predator in ocean ecosystems and became an advocate for marine conservation.

Early Life

Benchley was the son of Marjorie (née Bradford) and author Nathaniel Benchley and grandson of Algonquin Round Table founder Robert Benchley. His younger brother, Nat Benchley, is a writer and actor. Peter Benchley was an alumnus of the Allen-Stevenson School, Phillips Exeter Academy and Harvard University.After graduating from college in 1961, Benchley travelled around the world for a year. The experience was told in his first book, a travel memoir titled Time and a Ticket, published by Houghton Mifflin in 1964. Following his return to America, Benchley spent six months reserve duty in the Marine Corps, and then became a reporter for The Washington Post. While dining at an inn in Nantucket, Benchley met Winifred "Wendy" Wesson, whom he dated and then married the following year, 1964. By then Benchley was in New York, working as television editor for Newsweek. In 1967 he became a speechwriter in the White House for President Lyndon B. Johnson, and saw the birth of his daughter Tracy.Once Johnson's term ended in 1969, the Benchleys moved out of Washington, and lived in various houses, including an island off Stonington, Connecticut where son Clayton was born in 1969. Benchley wanted to be near New York, and the family eventually got a house at Pennington, New Jersey in 1970. Since his home had no space for an office, Benchley rented a room above a furnace supply company.

Movies & TV shows

2003.

1 TV show
TV
I Love the '70s

I Love the '70s

2003
I Love the '70s is a mini-series. The show is from the British Broadcasting Corporation. It examines the pop culture of the 1970s, using footage from the era, along with "Where Are They Now?" intervie...

2000.

1 Movie
The Search for Atlantis

The Search for Atlantis

2000
Ted Danson takes viewers on a spectacular 2-hour search for one of the greatest civilizations the world has ever known--the fabled Lost City of Atlantis. The epic journey spans the globe from the volc...

1999.

1 TV show
TV
Amazon

Amazon

1999
Amazon was a syndicated television show created by Peter Benchley. It was developed by Canadian production companies Alliance Atlantis Communications & WIC Entertainment and German company Beta Film G...

1998.

1 TV show
TV
Creature

Creature

6.8
1998
Craig T starred in a 1998 TV movie called Creature. Kim Cattrall and Matthew Carey. The 1994 novel White Shark was written by Peter Benchley. The film is about an amphibious shark-like monster that wr...

1997.

1 TV show
TV
The View

The View

6
1997
The most exciting events of the day are being discussed on ABC daytime's morning chat fest. Hot topics in the news, the best experts in their field, celebrity interviews and general entertainment are ...

1996.

2 TV shows
TV
E! True Hollywood Story

E! True Hollywood Story

1996
A documentary series on E! deals with famous Hollywood celebrities, movies, TV shows and also well-known public figures. salacious re-tellings of Hollywood secrets, show-biz scandals, celebrity murder...
TV
The Beast

The Beast

1996
Graves Point is a small seaport village with unexplained deaths and disappearances. A large claw is found on an empty raft on the shore. Herbert says it's a giant squid.

1995.

2 Movies
The Making of Jaws

The Making of Jaws

1995
There is a documentary on the making of one of the greatest films ever made.
Cruel Jaws

Cruel Jaws

1995
The sleepy tourist town of Hampton Bay is being ravaged by a tiger shark that was bred by the Navy.

1994.

1 Movie
Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle

Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle

1994
The heyday of the Algonquin Round Table, a group of friends whose barbed wit, like hers, was fueled by alcohol and flirting with despair, is what she remembers.

1989.

1 TV show
TV
Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove

1989
Dolphin Cove is an American drama created by Peter Benchley, set in Queensland, Australia that aired on CBS in 1989 for eight episodes.

1987.

1 Movie
Jaws: The Revenge

Jaws: The Revenge

5.34
1987
Ellen decided to move to the Caribbean to join her son, Michael, and his family after another shark attack. A great white shark followed her there.

1983.

1 Movie
Jaws 3-D

Jaws 3-D

5.4
1983
The third film in the series follows a group of marine biologists attempting to capture a young great white shark that has entered Florida's Sea World Park. The shark's mother is a guest at Sea World....

1980.

1 Movie
The Island

The Island

1980
A group of modern day pirates led by David Warner raid boats of people on vacation in the Caribbean. Michael Caine is a reporter who goes out there with his son to investigate the mystery of the disap...

1978.

2 Movies
Jaws 2

Jaws 2

5.89
1978
The citizens of Amity must be protected by the police chief.
Hunters of the Reef

Hunters of the Reef

1978
A beautiful marine biologist. A deep-sea diver. Trapped while searching for treasure in shark-infested waters!

1977.

1 Movie
The Deep

The Deep

1977
A pair of young vacationers are involved in a dangerous conflict with treasure hunters when they discover a way into a deadly wreck.

1976.

1 Movie
The Great Houdinis

The Great Houdinis

1976
A biography of the renowned escape artist Harry Houdini looked at his fascination with the occult and his promise to his wife on her deathbed that he would speak from the beyond.

1975.

1 Movie
Jaws

Jaws

6.03
1975
The police chief, an oceanographer and a grizzled shark hunter are trying to destroy a great white shark that is decimating the town of Amity Island.
Last updated: 
Product
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
Twitter
Pinterest
Download
iOS Application
Android Application