Shonda Rhimes

Shonda Rhimes

Bekannt für: Writing · Geburtstag: 1970-01-13 (51 Jahre alt) · Geschlecht: Frauen · Geburtsort: Chicago, Illinois, USA

4 Filme · 14 Serien

Auch bekannt als: Rhimes

Biographie

Januar 1970 in New York City) ist eine US-amerikanische Fernsehproduzentin, Drehbuchautorin und Autorin. Bekannt ist sie am besten als Showrunnerin – Schöpferin, Headwriterin und Executive Producerin – des Fernsehdramas Grey's Anatomy, dessen Spin-off Private Practice und der politischen Thriller-Serie Scandal. Rhimes war auch als Executive Producerin der ABC-Fernsehserie Off the Map, How to Get Away with Murder, The Catch und Station 19 tätig. 2007 wurde Rhimes als einer der 100 People Who Help Shape the World des TIME Magazins ausgezeichnet. 2015 veröffentlichte sie ihr erstes Buch, ein Memoir, Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun und Be Your Own Person. 2017 sagte Netflix, dass es in einen mehrjährigen Entwicklungsvertrag mit Rhimes eingegangen sei, bei dem alle ihre zukünftigen Produktionen Netflix Original-Serien sein werden. Netflix hatte bereits die Streaming-Rechte für vergangene Episoden von Grey's Anatomy und Scandal erworben.

Persönliches Leben

Im September 2013 begrüßte Rhimes ihre dritte Tochter durch Schwangerschafts-Surrogacy. 2014 gab Rhimes eine Antrittsrede an ihrer Alma Mater, Dartmouth College, wo sie eine Ehrendoktorwürde erhielt.Im September 2015 enthüllte Rhimes, dass sie 117 Pfund durch Bewegung und Diät verloren hatte.

Frühes Leben

Rhimes wurde in Chicago, Illinois, als jüngstes von sechs Kindern von Vera P. (Cain), einer Hochschulprofessorin, und Ilee Rhimes, Jr., einer Universitätsadministratorin geboren. Ihre Mutter besuchte das College, während sie ihre sechs Kinder großzog und 1991 einen Doktortitel in Bildungsverwaltung erwarb. Ihr Vater, der einen MBA besitzt, wurde Chief Information Officer (CIO) an der University of Southern California und diente bis 2013.Rhimes lebte in Park Forest South (heute University Park, Illinois), mit ihren zwei älteren Brüdern und drei älteren Schwestern. Sie hat gesagt, dass sie eine frühe Affinität zum Geschichtenerzählen ausstellte. Während ihrer Schulzeit war sie als Freiwilliger im Krankenhaus tätig, was ein Interesse an Krankenhausumgebungen weckte.Rhimes besuchte die Marian Catholic High School in Chicago Heights, Illinois. Am Dartmouth College studierte sie Englisch- und Filmwissenschaften und erwarb 1991 ihren Bachelor-Abschluss. In Dartmouth trat sie der Black Underground Theater Association bei. Sie teilte ihre Zeit zwischen Regie und Performance in Studentenproduktionen und schrieb Fiktion. Sie schrieb auch für die Collegezeitung. Nach dem College zog sie mit einem älteren Geschwister nach San Francisco und arbeitete in der Werbung bei McCann Erickson. Anschließend zog sie nach Los Angeles, um an der University of Southern California zu studieren und Drehbuch zu schreiben.Rhimes wurde an der Spitze ihrer USC-Klasse platziert und erhielt das Gary Rosenberg Writing Fellowship.Sie erwarb einen Master of Fine Arts Abschluss an der USC School of Cinematic Arts.Während ihrer Zeit an der USC wurde Rhimes von Debra Martin Chase als Praktikantin eingestellt.Rhimes zeichnete ihren frühen Erfolg teilweise an Mentoren wie Chase, einer prominenten afroamerikanischen Produzentin, aus.Sie arbeitete auch bei Denzel Washingtons Firma Mundy Lane Entertainment. Chase war Mentor von Rhimes: Sie arbeiteten zusammen an den Prinzessinnentagebüchern 2.

Filme und Serien

2020.

1 Serie
TV
Bridgerton

Bridgerton

6.1
2020
Durch die Augen der mächtigen Familie Bridgerton, gibt es Reichtum, Lust und Verrat vor dem Hintergrund der Regency-Ära England..

2019.

1 Film
This Changes Everything

This Changes Everything

2019
Ein investigativer Blick und Analyse der Geschlechterdisparität in Hollywood, mit Konten von bekannten Schauspielern, Führungskräften und Künstlern in der Industrie..

2018.

2 Serien
TV
Seattle Firefighters - Die jungen Helden

Seattle Firefighters - Die jungen Helden

4.43
2018
Feuerwehrleute in Seattle Feuerwehr 19 riskieren ihr Leben in der Linie der Pflicht. Erste Antworter, die ihr eigenes Leben in Gefahr bringen, andere zu retten, sind wie eine Familie.
TV
Grey's Anatomy: B-Team

Grey's Anatomy: B-Team

6.69
2018
6-tlg. Webserie, die die neuen „Grey’s Anatomy“-Assistenzärzte bei ihrem ersten Arbeitstag im Grey Sloan Memorial begleitet.

2017.

1 Serie
TV
Still Star-Crossed

Still Star-Crossed

2017
Ein Periodendrama, das aufgreift, wo die berühmte Geschichte von Romeo und Julia abgeht, die Verrat, Palastintrigen und unglückliche Romanzen der Montagues und Capulets im Gefolge des tragischen Schic...

2016.

1 Serie
TV
The Catch

The Catch

6
2016
Alice Martin ist eine betrügerische Ermittlerin, die im Begriff ist, Opfer eines Betrugs durch ihre Verlobte zu werden. Sie ist entschlossen, ihn zu finden, bevor ihre Karriere von ihm ruiniert wird.

2015.

1 Serie
TV
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

1
2015
Stephen Colbert verlässt "The Colbert Report" und kehrt ins Fernsehen zurück. Als Gastgeber von The Late Show Franchise-Redux -- aufgenommen im historischen Ed Sullivan Theatre in New York -- spricht ...

2014.

1 Serie
TV
How to Get Away with Murder

How to Get Away with Murder

6.36
2014
Ein sexy, spannungsgeladener Rechtsthriller handelt von einer Gruppe ehrgeiziger Jurastudenten und ihrem brillanten, mysteriösen Kriminal-Verteidigungs-Professor. Sie werden den Lauf ihres Lebens ände...

2012.

2 Serien
TV
Finding Your Roots

Finding Your Roots

2012
Gates ist der Sohn von Henry Louis Gates. Er war ein Harvard-Wissenschaftler. Menschen können lange verlorene Verwandte in den Zweigen ihrer Familienbäume finden. Professor Gates nutzt ein Team von Ah...
TV
Scandal

Scandal

5.85
2012
Jeder hat Geheimnisse und Olivia Pope hat ihr Leben dem Schutz und der Verteidigung der öffentlichen Bilder der Elite gewidmet, indem sie diese Geheimnisse unter Verschluss hält. Papst und ihr Team si...

2011.

1 Serie
TV
Off the Map

Off the Map

5.34
2011
Drei idealistische Ärzte sind auf der Suche nach Veränderung in einer medizinischen Klinik in einer kleinen Stadt im südamerikanischen Dschungel.

2007.

1 Serie
TV
Private Practice

Private Practice

6.46
2007
Nachdem sie das Seattle Grace Hospital verlassen hatte, zog der renommierte Chirurg Addison Forbes Montgomery nach Los Angeles, um näher an seiner Familie zu sein. Sie schloss sich ihren Freunden von ...

2005.

1 Serie
TV
Grey's Anatomy

Grey's Anatomy

6.45
2005
Das persönliche und berufliche Leben der Ärzte sind chronisch.

2004.

1 Film
Plötzlich Prinzessin 2

Plötzlich Prinzessin 2

6.31
2004
Mia geht nach Genovia, um ihre Aufgaben als Prinzessin nach Abschluss des Colleges zu übernehmen. Lilly wird auch mit ihr für den Sommer. Mia lernt, Pferde Side-Sattel, Bogenschießen und andere königl...

2002.

1 Film
Not a Girl

Not a Girl

2002
Drei Freunde begraben eine Box und machen einen Pakt, um es um Mitternacht bei ihrer High School Abschluss zu öffnen. Dinge werden sich ändern, wenn sie in einer kleinen Stadt in Georgien leben. Eine ...

1999.

1 Film
Die Geschichte der Dorothy Dandridge

Die Geschichte der Dorothy Dandridge

1999
In einer Zeit, die einige Stars nicht an der Haustür hereinließen, kämpfte eine gefeierte Bühnendarstellerin immer noch mit der Herausforderung ihrer Farbe. Sie wurde die erste schwarze Frau, die für ...

Unknown Year.

2 Serien
TV
A Corazón Abierto

A Corazón Abierto

A Corazón Abierto ist eine kolumbianische Fernsehserie, die auf ABC's Hitshow Grey's Anatomy basiert und von dem kolumbianischen Schriftsteller Fernando Gaitan geschrieben und betreut wird, besser bek...
TV
Inventing Anna

Inventing Anna

Eine Journalistin, die viel zu beweisen hat, untersucht den Fall von Anna Delvey, der deutschen Erbin, die ihr Geld gestohlen hat, sowie die Herzen der New Yorker Sozialszene.
Letzte Aktualisierung: 
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Shonda_Rhimes", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
Erzeugnis
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Soziale Medien
Twitter
Pinterest
Herunterladen
iOS-Anwendung
Android-Anwendung

Shonda Rhimes

Shonda Rhimes

Known For: Writing · Birthday: 1970-01-13 (51 years old) · Gender: Female · Place of Birth: Chicago, Illinois, USA

4 Movies · 14 TV shows

Also Known As: Rhimes

Biography

Shonda Lynn Rhimes (born January 13, 1970) is an American television producer, screenwriter, and author. She is best known as the showrunner—creator, head writer, and executive producer—of the television medical drama Grey's Anatomy, its spin-off Private Practice, and the political thriller series Scandal. Rhimes has also served as the executive producer of the ABC television series Off the Map, How to Get Away with Murder, The Catch, and Station 19.In 2007, Rhimes was named one of TIME magazine's 100 People Who Help Shape the World. In 2015, she published her first book, a memoir, Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun, and Be Your Own Person. In 2017, Netflix said that it had entered into a multi-year development deal with Rhimes, by which all of her future productions will be Netflix Original series. Netflix had already purchased the streaming rights to past episodes of Grey's Anatomy and Scandal.

Personal Life

Rhimes adopted her first daughter in June 2002 and adopted another girl in February 2012. In September 2013, Rhimes welcomed her third daughter via gestational surrogacy.In 2014, Rhimes gave a commencement address at her alma mater, Dartmouth College, where she received an honorary doctorate.In September 2015, Rhimes revealed she had lost 117 pounds via exercise and dieting.

Early Life

Rhimes was born in Chicago, Illinois, as the youngest of six children of Vera P. (Cain), a college professor, and Ilee Rhimes, Jr., a university administrator. Her mother attended college while raising their six children and earned a PhD in educational administration in 1991. Her father, who holds an MBA, became chief information officer (CIO) at the University of Southern California, serving until 2013.Rhimes lived in Park Forest South (now University Park, Illinois), with her two older brothers and three older sisters. She has said she exhibited an early affinity for storytelling. While in high school, she served as a hospital volunteer, which inspired an interest in hospital environments.Rhimes attended Marian Catholic High School in Chicago Heights, Illinois. At Dartmouth College, she majored in English and film studies and earned her bachelor's degree in 1991. At Dartmouth, she joined the Black Underground Theater Association. She divided her time between directing and performing in student productions, and writing fiction.She also wrote for the college newspaper. After college, she relocated to San Francisco with an older sibling and worked in advertising at McCann Erickson. She subsequently moved to Los Angeles to attend the University of Southern California and study screenwriting. Ranked at the top of her USC class, Rhimes earned the Gary Rosenberg Writing Fellowship. She obtained a Master of Fine Arts degree from the USC School of Cinematic Arts.While at USC, Rhimes was hired as an intern by Debra Martin Chase. Rhimes credits her early success, in part, to mentors such as Chase, a prominent African-American producer. She also worked at Denzel Washington's company, Mundy Lane Entertainment. Chase served as a mentor to Rhimes: they worked together on The Princess Diaries 2.

Movies & TV shows

2020.

1 TV show
TV
Bridgerton

Bridgerton

6.1
2020
Wealth, lust, and betrayal are seen through the eyes of the powerful Bridgerton family.

2019.

1 Movie
This Changes Everything

This Changes Everything

2019
An investigative look and analysis of gender disparity in Hollywood, featuring accounts from well-known actors, executives and artists in the Industry.

2018.

2 TV shows
TV
Station 19

Station 19

4.43
2018
A group of heroic firefighters at Seattle Fire Station 19 risk their lives and hearts both in the line of duty and off the clock. These brave men and women put their own lives in danger as first respo...
TV
Grey's Anatomy: B-Team

Grey's Anatomy: B-Team

6.69
2018
Chief Bailey watches over the new interns on their first day as surgeons.

2017.

1 TV show
TV
Still Star-Crossed

Still Star-Crossed

2017
A period drama that picks up where the famous story of Romeo and Juliet leaves off, charts the treachery, palace intrigue, and ill-fated romances of the Montagues and Capulets in the wake of the young...

2016.

1 TV show
TV
The Catch

The Catch

6
2016
A fraud investigator named Alice Martin is about to be the victim of a fraud by her fiancée. She wants to find him before her career is ruined by him.

2015.

1 TV show
TV
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

1
2015
Stephen Colbert is leaving his "The Colbert Report" character to make his long-awaited return to television. As the host of The Late Show franchise redux -- taped at the historic Ed Sullivan Theatre a...

2014.

1 TV show
TV
How to Get Away with Murder

How to Get Away with Murder

6.38
2014
A legal thriller about a group of ambitious law students and their brilliant criminal defense professor. They become entangled in a murder plot and will change the course of their lives.

2012.

2 TV shows
TV
Scandal

Scandal

5.84
2012
Everyone has secrets andOlivia Pope has dedicated her life to protecting and defending the public images of the elite by keeping those secrets under wraps. Pope and her team are at the top of their ga...
TV
Finding Your Roots

Finding Your Roots

2012
Henry Louis Gates was the son of Gates. He was a scholar at Harvard. People can look in the branches of their family trees. Professor Gates utilizes a team of genealogists to reconstruct the paper tra...

2011.

1 TV show
TV
Off the Map

Off the Map

5.34
2011
Three idealistic doctors are looking for change in a medical clinic in a small town in the South American jungle.

2007.

1 TV show
TV
Private Practice

Private Practice

6.46
2007
After leaving behind Seattle Grace Hospital, renowned surgeon Addison Forbes Montgomery moved to Los Angeles. She joined her friends from medical school at their co-op in Santa Monica.

2005.

1 TV show
TV
Grey's Anatomy

Grey's Anatomy

6.54
2005
The personal and professional lives of doctors are chronicled.

2004.

1 Movie
The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement

The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement

6.31
2004
Mia is going to Genovia to take up her duties as a princess. Lilly will join her for the summer. Mia is learning to ride horses side-saddle, archery, and other royal skills. When she learns that she i...

2002.

1 Movie
Crossroads

Crossroads

2002
At their high school graduation, three friends bury a box and make a pact to open it at midnight. When they move to a small town in Georgia, things will change. One is an engaged prom queen and the ot...

1999.

1 Movie
Introducing Dorothy Dandridge

Introducing Dorothy Dandridge

1999
In a time when stars weren't allowed in by the front door, an acclaimed stage performer still struggled with her color. She is the first black woman to be nominated for an Academy Award. Marriages and...

Unknown Year.

2 TV shows
TV
Inventing Anna

Inventing Anna

A journalist with a lot to prove is investigating the case of Anna Delvey, the German heiress who stole their money as well as the hearts of New York's social scene.
TV
A Corazón Abierto

A Corazón Abierto

A Corazón Abierto is a Colombian television series based on ABC's hit show Grey's Anatomy, written and supervised by Colombian writer Fernando Gaitan better known for creating hit telenovelas like Yo ...
Last updated: 
Product
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
Twitter
Pinterest
Download
iOS Application
Android Application