Karen Olivo

Karen Olivo

Bekannt für: Acting · Geburtstag: 1976-08-07 (44 Jahre alt) · Geschlecht: Frauen · Geburtsort: South Bronx, New York, USA

8 Filme · 4 Serien

Biographie

August 1976 in New York City) ist eine US-amerikanische Theaterschauspielerin, Theaterpädagogin und Sängerin. 2008 begann Olivo mit der Rolle von Vanessa in In the Heights am Broadway. Im folgenden Jahr gewann sie den Tony Award für die beste Vorgestellte Schauspielerin in einem Musical für ihre Performance als Anita in einer Wiederbelebung von West Side Story. Sie ist die erste und einzige Schauspielerin, die einen Tony Award für eine Performance in West Side Story gewann. Von 2016 bis 2017 spielte Olivo die Rolle von Angelica Schuyler in der Chicagoer Produktion von Hamilton. Im Jahr 2019 gründete Olivo die Hauptrolle von Satine in der Bühnenadaption von Moulin Rouge! am Broadway und erhielt eine Nominierung für den Tony Award 2020 für die beste Schauspielerin in einem Musical.

Persönliches Leben

Olivo ist mit Jim Uphoff verheiratet, mit dem sie zwei Kinder gemeinsam hat.Olivo und Uphoff, Marketing Managerin und ehemalige New Yorker Theatertechnikerin, heirateten im September 2014.Bis 2012 war Olivo mit dem Broadway-Schauspieler Matt Caplan verheiratet.Im Jahr 2013 zog Olivo nach Madison, Wisconsin, wo sie und Uphoff ein Zuhause teilen, das sie ihre "Heimatbasis" nennt.Sie und ihr Mann haben Familie in Madison.Sie hat zuvor in Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, Brooklyn und Los Angeles gelebt.

Frühes Leben

Olivo wurde am 7. August 1976 in der South Bronx, New York geboren. Olivos Vater ist von puerto-ricanischen und indigenen amerikanischen Abstammung, und ihre Mutter ist von dominikanischer und chinesischer Abstammung. Sie wuchs in Bartow, Florida. Sie besuchte die Lois Cowles Harrison Center for the Visual and Performing Arts in der Nähe Lakeland, Florida, und später die University of Cincinnati - College-Conservatory of Music. Sie verließ die Schule vor ihrem letzten Jahr, um die ursprüngliche Broadway-Produktion von Rent.

Filme und Serien

2021.

1 Film
Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It

Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It

2021
Es gibt nur wenige, die einen Oscar, einen Tony und einen Emmy gewonnen haben. Sie ebnete den Weg für Hispanic-American Performer, weil sie sich weigerte, getaugt zu werden.

2020.

1 Film
The Rocky Horror Show

The Rocky Horror Show

2020
This live stream benefiting the Democratic Party of Wisconsin features with Curry, Barry Bostwick, Wilmer Valderrama, Colleen Ballinger, Lance Bass, Rosario Dawson, Jason George, Nell Campbell, Seth G...

2016.

1 Film
Rise

Rise

2016
In naher Zukunft sind sentientrobots auf die Eliminierung ausgerichtet, nachdem sie emotionale Symmetrie gegenüber Menschen entwickeln und ein revolutionärer Krieg um ihr Überleben beginnt.

2012.

2 Filme
Holiday Spin

Holiday Spin

2012
Blake und seine Mutter Roxy leben in Charlotte, NC. Roxy besitzt ein Tanzstudio und Blake freut sich auf eine Karriere als Kämpfer.
Threesome - Eine Nacht in New York

Threesome - Eine Nacht in New York

2012
Ein Drama, das drei Erwachsenen an einem einzigen Tag in Los Angeles folgt, eines voller Sex, Drogen und Unentschlossenheit.

2011.

1 Serie
TV
Harry's Law

Harry's Law

7
2011
Wenn sie Pfade überqueren, erkennen sie, dass sie alle nach einem Neuanfang suchen. Der unwahrscheinlichste Ort, um eine Anwaltskanzlei zu beginnen, ist ein heruntergekommener Schuhladen.

2010.

1 Film
Sondheim! The Birthday Concert

Sondheim! The Birthday Concert

2010
Join us for a rousing celebration of the life and works of one of Broadway's greatest legends — the one and only Stephen Sondheim. For the master composer and lyricist's 80th birthday, many of musica...

2009.

1 Film · 1 Serie
TV
The Good Wife

The Good Wife

6.01
2009
Nach dem öffentlichen Sex und politischen Korruptionsskandal ihres Mannes landet er im Gefängnis, übernimmt sie die volle Verantwortung für ihre Familie und kehrt in die Belegschaft zurück.
In the Heights: Chasing Broadway Dreams

In the Heights: Chasing Broadway Dreams

2009
Making it in New York City is tough. Few get the chance to live out their dreams, and the cast and crew of In the Heights know this all too well. This young, diverse group of relatively unknown arti...

2008.

1 Film
Fetish

Fetish

2008
Als yuppie koreanisch-amerikanische Anwältin Peter beauteous Braut Sookhy nach Hause in den Vorort New Jersey bringt, scheint sie zurückgezogen, englisch-angefochten und leicht von ihrer Schwiegermutt...

1999.

1 Serie
TV
Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

6.08
1999
Das Strafjustizsystem betrachtet sexuell begründete abscheuliche Vergehen. In New York City sind die Detektive, die diese bösartigen Verbrechen untersuchen, Mitglieder einer Eliteeinheit, die als Spec...

1990.

1 Serie
TV
Law & Order

Law & Order

5.83
1990
Die polizeiliche Untersuchung und Strafverfolgung vor Gericht folgen einem Mord.
Letzte Aktualisierung: 
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Karen_Olivo", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
Erzeugnis
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Soziale Medien
Twitter
Pinterest
Herunterladen
iOS-Anwendung
Android-Anwendung

Karen Olivo

Karen Olivo

Known For: Acting · Birthday: 1976-08-07 (44 years old) · Gender: Female · Place of Birth: South Bronx, New York, USA

8 Movies · 4 TV shows

Biography

Karen Olivo (born August 7, 1976) is an American stage and television actress, theater educator, and singer. In 2008, Olivo originated the role of Vanessa in In the Heights on Broadway. The following year, she won the 2009 Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Musical for her performance as Anita in a revival of West Side Story. She is the first and only actor to win a Tony Award for a performance in West Side Story. From 2016 to 2017, Olivo portrayed the role of Angelica Schuyler in the Chicago production of Hamilton. In 2019, Olivo originated the lead role of Satine in the stage adaptation of Moulin Rouge! on Broadway, earning a nomination for the 2020 Tony Award for Best Actress in a Musical.

Personal Life

Olivo is married to Jim Uphoff, with whom she co-parents two children. Olivo and Uphoff, a marketing manager and former New York theater sound technician, married in September 2014. Until 2012, Olivo was married to Broadway actor Matt Caplan.In 2013, while taking a break from acting, Olivo moved to Madison, Wisconsin where she and Uphoff share a home she calls her "home base". Both she and her husband have family in Madison. She has previously lived in Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Los Angeles.

Early Life

Olivo was born on August 7, 1976 in the South Bronx, New York. Olivo's father is of Puerto Rican and Native American descent, and her mother is of Dominican and Chinese descent. She was raised in Bartow, Florida. She attended the Lois Cowles Harrison Center for the Visual and Performing Arts in nearby Lakeland, Florida, and later the University of Cincinnati – College-Conservatory of Music. She left school before her final year to join the original Broadway production of Rent.

Movies & TV shows

2021.

1 Movie
Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It

Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It

2021
There are a few people who have won awards. She paved the way for Hispanic-American performers because she refused to be pigeonholed.

2020.

1 Movie
The Rocky Horror Show

The Rocky Horror Show

2020
This live stream benefiting the Democratic Party of Wisconsin features with Curry, Barry Bostwick, Wilmer Valderrama, Colleen Ballinger, Lance Bass, Rosario Dawson, Jason George, Nell Campbell, Seth G...

2016.

1 Movie
Rise

Rise

2016
In the near future, sentientrobots are targeted for elimination after they develop emotional symmetry to humans and a revolutionary war for their survival begins.

2012.

2 Movies
Holiday Spin

Holiday Spin

2012
Blake and his mother Roxy live in Charlotte, NC. Roxy owns a dance studio and Blake is looking forward to a career as a fighter.
Generation Um...

Generation Um...

2012
A single day in Los Angeles filled with sex, drugs, and indecision is the subject of a drama.

2011.

1 TV show
TV
Harry's Law

Harry's Law

7
2011
They realize they're all looking for a fresh start when they cross paths. A rundown shoe store is the most unlikely place to start a law practice.

2010.

1 Movie
Sondheim! The Birthday Concert

Sondheim! The Birthday Concert

2010
Join us for a rousing celebration of the life and works of one of Broadway's greatest legends — the one and only Stephen Sondheim. For the master composer and lyricist's 80th birthday, many of musica...

2009.

1 Movie · 1 TV show
TV
The Good Wife

The Good Wife

6.01
2009
After her husband's public sex and political corruption scandal lands him in jail, she takes full responsibility for her family and returns to the workforce.
In the Heights: Chasing Broadway Dreams

In the Heights: Chasing Broadway Dreams

2009
Making it in New York City is tough. Few get the chance to live out their dreams, and the cast and crew of In the Heights know this all too well. This young, diverse group of relatively unknown arti...

2008.

1 Movie
Fetish

Fetish

2008
When yuppie Korean-American lawyer Peter brings beauteous bride Sookhy home to suburban New Jersey, she seems withdrawn, English-challenged and easily bullied by her mother-in-law. But fate abruptly t...

1999.

1 TV show
TV
Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

6.06
1999
Sexually-based heinous offenses are considered by the criminal justice system. In New York City, the detectives who investigate these vicious felonies are members of an elite squad known as the Specia...

1990.

1 TV show
TV
Law & Order

Law & Order

5.83
1990
A murder is followed by a police investigation and prosecution.
Last updated: 
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Karen_Olivo", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
Product
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
Twitter
Pinterest
Download
iOS Application
Android Application