Strong Island

Genre: 

Date de sortie: 23 janvier 2017

Status: Sorti

Durée: 1h 47m

Vérifiez sur Amazon

Liens Externes & Médias sociaux

Réseau & Production Companies
JustFilms / Ford FoundationFinal Cut for Real

Wiki.

Strong Island est un film documentaire américain réalisé en 2017 par Yance Ford. Le film se concentre sur le meurtre du frère de Ford, William, un professeur afro-américain de 24 ans à New York, qui a été tué par Mark P. Reilly, un mécanicien blanc de 19 ans.Un grand jury entièrement blanc dans le comté de Suffolk a refusé d'inculper son tueur, qui a revendiqué l'autodéfense.Le film a été lancé au Sundance Film Festival 2017. Il a reçu le prix Gotham Independent Film Award pour le meilleur documentaire en 2017 et a été nominé pour le prix Oscar 2018 pour le meilleur documentaire.Il a également été nominé pour un Emmy in Exceptional Merit in Documentary Filmmaking cette année-là.Il a reçu généralement des critiques positives. Inkoo Kang de TheWrap a déclaré que le film « est une montre exigeante, déchirant; un travail important. » Bilge Ebiri de The Village Voice a déclaré que le film est « vraiment spécial, surtout à mesure qu'il se dirige vers son acte final.. le film est indéniable dans sa représentation de leur dévastation après la perte de leur fils aîné. ».

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi.

Regardez les autres titres qui pourraient être intéressants pour vous
Icare

Icare

2017
Alors qu'il enquête sur le monde furtif du dopage illégal dans les sports, le réalisateur Bryan Fogel se connecte avec le scientifique russe renégat Grigory Rodchenkov — un pilier de son programme ant...
Heroin(e)

Heroin(e)

2017
Trois femmes, dont un chef des pompiers, un juge et un missionnaire de rue, luttent contre l'épidémie d'opiacés en Virginie occidentale.
Poverty, Inc.

Poverty, Inc.

6
2014
L'Occident s'est positionné comme le protagoniste du récit du développement. Mais les résultats ont été mitigés, voire catastrophiques dans certains cas, et les dirigeants des pays en développement se...
Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

6
2016
Au cours de 56 ans, l'artiste Mindy Alper a combattu la dépression et l'anxiété sévères en utilisant une variété de thérapies. Dessin et sculpture ont toujours été son moyen le plus efficace de donner...
Body Team 12

Body Team 12

2015
L'équipe 12 du corps est chargée de recueillir les morts au plus fort de l'épidémie d'Ebola. Ces collectionneurs de corps ont sans doute le travail le plus dangereux et le plus horrible au monde. Pour...
Yelling To The Sky

Yelling To The Sky

5.8
2011
Une fillette de dix-sept ans est laissée se défendre dans un quartier où sa survie est incertaine à mesure que sa famille s'effondre.
Joan Didion : Le centre ne tiendra pas

Joan Didion : Le centre ne tiendra pas

2017
Griffin Dunne Depuis des années, le portrait documentaire de sa tante Joan Didion se déplace avec l'esprit de son écrit incroyablement lucide : le film s'élargit et s'écroule simultanément, couvrant u...
Three Days in Havana

Three Days in Havana

2014
Un homme d'affaires est pris dans un complot d'assassinat quand il voyage à Cuba..
Mur Murs

Mur Murs

1981
De Venice Beach à Watts, Varda regarde les murales de Los Angeles comme toile de fond et miroir de la ville de nombreuses cultures. Elle jette un œil curieux sur les graffitis et le photoréalisme, la ...
King in the Wilderness

King in the Wilderness

2018
Une chronique des derniers chapitres de la vie du Dr Martin Luther King Jr., révélant un leader en conflit qui a fait face à une attaque de critiques des deux côtés du spectre politique..
Edith+Eddie

Edith+Eddie

2017
Les plus anciens jeunes mariés interracial de l'Amérique sont Edith et Eddie. Leur histoire d'amour inhabituelle et idyllique est menacée par une querelle familiale qui conduit à un abus dévastateur d...
DeKalb Elementary

DeKalb Elementary

2017
Il y a eu une fusillade à l'école à Atlanta, en Géorgie..
Uncle Howard

Uncle Howard

2017
Quand Howard Brookner a perdu sa vie face au sida en 1989, le réalisateur de 35 ans avait terminé deux longs métrages documentaires et était en post-production lors de ses débuts narratifs, Bloodhound...
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

4
2017
Une famille chinoise possédait une banque à New York. Le procureur du district de Manhattan est accusé de fraude hypothécaire. Il n'y a qu'un seul État-Unis. Des accusations criminelles seront portées...
Les derniers Hommes d'Alep

Les derniers Hommes d'Alep

6
2017
Lauréat du Grand Prix documentaire du jury au Festival du film de Sundance, le cinéaste syrien Feras Fayyad est un travail époustouflant — un exemple époustouflant de reportage sur les bottes — qui su...
Watu Wote: All of Us

Watu Wote: All of Us

2017
Les attentats terroristes contre le pays se poursuivent depuis une décennie. Il y a une méfiance croissante entre musulmans et chrétiens. En décembre 2015, les passagers musulmans de bus ont fait preu...
Dernière mise à jour: 
Produit
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Médias sociaux
Twitter
Pinterest
Télécharger
Application iOS
Application Android

Strong Island

Genre: 

Release Date: January 23, 2017

Status: Released

Running time: 1h 47m

Wiki.

Strong Island is an American 2017 true-crime documentary film directed by Yance Ford. The film centers on the April 1992 murder of Ford's brother William, a 24-year-old African-American teacher in New York, who was killed by Mark P. Reilly, a 19-year-old white chop shop mechanic. An all-white grand jury in Suffolk County declined to indict his killer, who claimed self-defense.The film premiered at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival. Worldwide rights were acquired by Netflix. It received a Gotham Independent Film Award for Best Documentary in 2017 and was nominated for the 2018 Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature. It was also nominated for an Emmy in Exceptional Merit in Documentary Filmmaking that year.It received generally positive reviews from critics. Inkoo Kang of TheWrap said the film "is a demanding, wrenching watch; an important work." Bilge Ebiri of The Village Voice said the film is "truly special, especially as it moves towards its final act... the film is unflinching in its portrayal of their devastation after the loss of their eldest son."

You May Also Like.

Look at the other titles that might be interesting for you
Icarus

Icarus

2017
Bryan Fogel talked to a scientist. There is an anti-doping program in his country. Despite the allegations that Fogel is at the center of Russia's anti-doping program, they are closer than ever before...
Heroin(e)

Heroin(e)

2017
Three women, including a fire chief, a judge and a street missionary, are fighting the opiate epidemic in West Virginia.
Poverty, Inc.

Poverty, Inc.

6
2014
Poverty, Inc. explores the hidden side of doing good. From disaster relief to TOMs Shoes, from adoptions to agricultural subsidies, Poverty, Inc. follows the butterfly effect of our most well-intentio...
Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

6
2016
Over the course of 56 years, artist Mindy Alper has battled severe depression and anxiety using a variety of therapies. She has always used drawing and sculpture to give voice to her fears.
Body Team 12

Body Team 12

2015
Body Team 12 is tasked with collecting the dead at the height of the Ebola outbreak. These body collectors have arguably the most dangerous and gruesome job in the world. Yet despite the strain they e...
Yelling To The Sky

Yelling To The Sky

5.8
2011
A seventeen year old girl is left to fend for herself in a neighborhood where her survival is uncertain as her family falls apart.
Last Day of Freedom

Last Day of Freedom

2015
When Bill Babbitt realizes his brother Manny has committed a crime he agonizes over his decision to call the police.
Chau, Beyond the Lines

Chau, Beyond the Lines

2015
A man disabled by Agent Orange dares to dream.
Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold

Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold

2017
The film simultaneously expands and zeroes in, covering a vast stretch of turbulent cultural history with elegance and candor, thanks to the years-in-the-making documentary portrait of his aunt Joan D...
Traffic Stop

Traffic Stop

1
2017
Breaion King, a 26 year-old African-American school teacher from Austin, Texas - is pulled over for a routine traffic stop that escalates into a violent arrest. Dashcam clips intercut with verite scen...
Three Days in Havana

Three Days in Havana

2014
A businessman is caught up in an assassination plot while he is in Cuba.
Knife Skills

Knife Skills

2017
Edwin’s Restaurant is determined to become one of America’s top French restaurants, with a staff unlike any other in the country. Brandon Edwin Chrostowski prepares to open his Cleveland, Ohio fine di...
King in the Wilderness

King in the Wilderness

2018
A chronicle of the final chapters of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s life, revealing a conflicted leader who faced an onslaught of criticism from both sides of the political spectrum.
Edith+Eddie

Edith+Eddie

2017
Edith and Eddie are America's oldest interracial newlyweds. Their unusual and idyllic love story is threatened by a family feud that leads to a devastating abuse of the legal guardianship system.
DeKalb Elementary

DeKalb Elementary

2017
There was a shooting at a school.
Uncle Howard

Uncle Howard

2017
When Howard Brookner lost his life to AIDS in 1989, the 35-year-old director had completed two feature documentaries and was in post-production on his narrative debut, Bloodhounds of Broadway. Twenty-...
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

4
2017
A Chinese family owned a bank in New York. The Manhattan District Attorney is accused of mortgage fraud. There is only one United States. Criminal charges will be brought against the bank. Over the co...
Mur Murs

Mur Murs

1981
Venturing from Venice Beach to Watts, Varda looks at the murals of LA as backdrop to and mirror of the city’s many cultures. She casts a curious eye on graffiti and photorealism, roller disco & gang v...
Watu Wote: All of Us

Watu Wote: All of Us

2017
There have been terrorist attacks on the country for a decade. Muslims and Christians are distrusting each other. Muslim bus passengers showed their support.
Last Men in Aleppo

Last Men in Aleppo

6
2017
Winner of the Grand Jury Documentary prize at the Sundance Film Festival, Syrian filmmaker Feras Fayyad’s breathtaking work — a searing example of boots-on-the-ground reportage — follows the efforts o...
Last updated: 
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Strong_Island_(film)", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
Product
contacts@moviefit.me
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
Twitter
Pinterest
Download
iOS Application
Android Application